Sometimes I Think

I officially graduated from business school this past weekend. I spent the 2-3 weeks up to graduation not celebrating, like most of my classmates, but doing a thorough introspection of my time and effort. While I’m grateful for my time off, after 2 years of sitting in a classroom with little insightful discussion and a number of general frameworks, I’m ready to return to work. But not just any job, I’m looking to do work similar to the mission of this blog: to help minorities create more opportunities for themselves and their communities.

For those interested in the MBA experience, I give you my summary of why I decided to attend business school:

  1. Next logical step / Re-evaluate my life goals
  2. Gain knowledge of the basics of business
  3. A two-year vacation that doesn’t taint the resume

In short, I came to Cornell to think. I didn’t come to make more money nor did I come to actively make less money. I didn’t come to network, although I did/will take advantage of the alumni network. I came to think about my past experiences (the good, the bad, and the ugly), my interests, and my values — upon doing this, I realized that I care about helping people while making money. I like business and I care about justice. While still nebulous, my career goal is worth seeking and waiting for…Obviously, this is easier said than done, but I’m learning the value of patience.

I have little interest in going to a job that sucks everyday; I completely recognize the privilege that I have in being able to be “picky” about a job, but I see no point in waiting on retirement, which might not happen for a while for me (or people before after 1975), to be happy and enjoy life. I don’t have to tell you how annoyingly ridiculous co-workers can be for you to see the value in doing meaningful, enjoyable work (whatever that is for you). We’ve all had that co-worker that spends the day finding ways to get other people to do their work, or that boss that was a bully. Work can be similar to some sort of torture session, and people treat it as such — making great plans for their retirement in the next 30…40…50 years.

I am not saying “live everyday like it’s the last.” I’m not a proponent of that motto. For new readers, I think you should be saving for retirement, at least 20% of you annual income, to be exact. I think you should plan for the things that matter to you in life (vacations, college, etc.). But I also think healthy lifestyles are important, particularly as we, Millennials, prepare to work an additional 10 or 20 years (75-85 years old for retirement). It’s funny how thorough my list has become over time, as it indicates that I learned something from my previous experiences.

Leave a Reply

